To Make the World My Own

Dune Boyfrom Dune Boy
Dune Boy: The Early Years of a Naturalist by Edwin Way Teale

The long summer days of his earliest boyhood were spent at his grandfather’s farm on the edge of Indiana’s dune country. Lone Oak Farm was Edwin Way Teale’s training ground as a naturalist. “I was out-of-doors from morning until night, running barefoot and in overalls, a straw hat protecting me from the midday sun.” He knew every stone, met all the birds, mammals and insects — and like many a young naturalist, he diligently set about the establishment of his very own natural history museum.
Looking back on his boyhood, Teale wrote: “The debt I owe my grandparents most of all is the freedom they gave me, freedom to roam the acres of corn & wheat & potatoes, the woods & swamps, and to make this world my own.

As the twig is bent…

There are several excellent childhood memoirs of naturalists, including The Story of My Boyhood and Youth by John Muir, and The Thunder Tree: Lessons from an Urban Wildland by Robert Michael Pyle. Here’s three more from the Land Library’s shelves!
My Family & Other AnimalsE.O. WilsonFar Away & Long Ago
My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell, Naturalist by E.O. Wilson, Far Away and Long Ago: A Childhood in Argentina by W.H. Hudson.

One thought on “To Make the World My Own

  1. Pingback: A Gentle Rebellion, where some dirt will fly « Rocky Mountain Land Library

Leave a Reply

